click here


Dr. Luke, Max Martin Win Songwriters of the Year at ASCAP Pop Music Awards

Isnt this dandy!!! Hitmakers and frequent collaborators Lukasz "Dr. Luke" Gottwald and Max Martin shared the ASCAP Songwriter of the Year award, presented at the American Society of Composers Authors and Publishers annual award ceremony held Wednesday night (April 27) at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles.

Song of the Year went to ...
"Hey Soul Sister, which was written by Pay Monahan of Train.
Meanwhile, EMI Music Publishing picked up the ASCAP Publisher of the Year designation for the ninth consecutive year -- and the 17 time in the 28-year history of the awards. EMI scored 19 of the year's most performed songs.
The ASCAP Pop Music Awards kick off the 6th annual ASCAP "I Create Music" EXPO, a three-day conference dedicated to songwriting and composing.
Dr. Luke and Max Martin penned five of the most-performed songs of 2010, including "California Gurls" (Katy Perry with Snoop Dogg), "Dynamite" (Taio Cruz) and "Teenage Dream" (Katy Perry).
Besides those three songs, Dr. Luke also was able to claim the award thanks to his involvement with Miley Cyrus' "Party in the USA" and "Tik Tok" by Ke$ha.
According to ASCAP, Dr. Luke has had a hand in 20 #1 songs in the past five years, and has won 17 ASCAP Awards (including Songwriter of the Year in 2010). Helping Martin win his share of the award was his involvement in "DJ Got Us Fallin' In Love" by Usher with Pitbull and "Whataya Want From Me" by Adam Lambert. This year's win represented the fourth time he has received the nod as Songwriter of the Year, having also earned the prize in 1999, 2000 and 2001 for hits including "Quit Playing Games (With My Heart)" by The Backstreet Boys, "Baby One More Time" by Britney Spears and "That's the Way It Is" by Celine Dion.
In other awards, Band of Horses received the organization's Vanguard Award, which recognizes the impact of music genres that help shape the future of American music; Randy Bachman won the Global Impact Award and Rod Stewart was presented with the Founders Award.
Other award winners included: Ari Levine, who picked up three awards for "Billionaire," "Just the Way You Are" and "Nothin' On You;" while songwriters picking up two awards each were: Keith Harris for "Imma Be" and "Meet Me Halfway;" Steve Kipner for "Breakeven" and "Live Like We're Dying;" Frederic Riesterer for "Club Can't Handle Me," and "I Gotta Feeling;" Stargate's Mikkel Eriksen & Tor Hermansen for "Only Girl (In the World)" and "Rude Boy."
The complete list of winners is available at

No comments:

Post a Comment